Skip to content
Sign up for latest news and events

Explore British Racing’s Directory of Community and Education Activity…

The Directory maps nationwide activities from over 130 organisations that are harnessing racing’s assets to help people develop skills, increase physical activity and create a more diverse and inclusive sport.

Email to add your organisation or retrieve your login details.

12 January 2023

Finalists announced for 2023 Thoroughbred Industry Employee Awards

The 18 finalists for the 2023 Thoroughbred Industry Employee Awards sponsored by Godolphin have been revealed today, Friday 6 January 2023.

Nominations for the awards, now in their 19th year, were received from across the racing and breeding industries before ten-person shortlists for each of the six awards were announced in November.

Now only three finalists remain in contention for each of the prizes, which recognise and reward the outstanding skill, commitment and contribution of over 10,000 stud and stable staff in England, Scotland and Wales. All of those shortlisted will receive a £250 prize in recognition of their achievement in reaching this stage of the judging process.

The finalists will now go forward to the judging day on Monday 20 February, with the eventual winners announced during a ceremony at York Racecourse on the evening of the same date.

Julie Harrington, Chief Executive of the BHA, said: “I would like to congratulate all of this year’s finalists on reaching this stage of the Awards. They, along with their families and colleagues, should feel very proud.
“I would also like to congratulate those who made the shortlists. This is a significant achievement in itself and a tribute to your dedicated and skilful work.”
The finalists are:

The Community Award (In recognition of the wonderful work Rory MacDonald achieved at The British Racing School)
Gay Kelleway – For her work supporting Ukraine
Jo Foster – Community racehorse visits
Margo Walsh – The Jockey Club 

David Nicholson Newcomer
Amy Grieve – Rose Dobbin
Ryan Kavanagh – Amy Murphy
Stephanie Wing – George Scott Racing
Becky Smith – Micky Hammond
Jessica O’Keefe – Venetia Williams
Sarah Guest – John O’Shea

Amy Vickers – Harry and Roger Charlton
Emma Tully – Susan Corbett-Girsonfield Stud & Racing
Rita Gillies – Lucinda Russell
Stud Staff
Andrew Rawlin – Blue Diamond Stud
Bethan Byrne – Godolphin Management Co Ltd
Davina Burrows – Deerfield Farm

Claire Ricks – Marco Botti
David Crofts – Marcus Tregoning
Patrick McConville – Hascombe & Valiant Stud Ltd
The Awards’ organisers would like to thank media partners Racing Post and Racing TV for their support in promoting the Thoroughbred Industry Employee Awards sponsored by Godolphin.

Back to news