Skip to content
Sign up for latest news and events

Explore British Racing’s Directory of Community and Education Activity…

The Directory maps nationwide activities from over 130 organisations that are harnessing racing’s assets to help people develop skills, increase physical activity and create a more diverse and inclusive sport.

Email to add your organisation or retrieve your login details.

21 September 2021

Nominations are now open for the 2022 Godolphin Stud & Stable Staff Awards

This year will mark the 18th year of the awards recognising the outstanding skill, commitment and contribution of over 10,000 stud and stable staff across the country. The awards are sponsored by Godolphin and run by the BHA in association with the Racing Post and Racing TV and have a prize money totalling £128,500. This year’s judging panel will be Chaired by Nick Luck and include previous year’s Employee of the Year. 

Nominations are open from 21st September – 9th November 2021 and can be made online here. Alternatively video submissions can be made. There are seven award categories shown below: 

  • Community Award 
  • David Nicholson Newcomer Award 
  • Leadership Award 
  • Rider/ Racing Groom Award 
  • Stud Staff Award 
  • Dedication Award 
  • Employee of the Year Award 

To find out about the eligibility of each award click here.  

Hugh Anderson, Managing Director of Godolphin (UK and Dubai), said: “The past 18 months have demonstrated more than ever what a vital part the loyal, hardworking people working in the racing and breeding industries have to play in keeping the show on the road: in the racing yard, on the racecourse or on the stud farm. 
“Their outstanding dedication and commitment has seen them rise to the challenges of recent times in spades and it is as important as ever that they are recognised and rewarded. 
“Godolphin is delighted to continue its support for these awards and encourage anyone working in our wonderful industry to put forward their outstanding colleagues or employees for nomination.” 
Nick Luck, Chair of the judging panel, said: “I was proud to take over the position of Chair from Brough Scott in 2021 and was struck by the passion, dedication and talent displayed by all nominees. 
“These winners of these awards are rightly proud of their achievement and I was touched last year not only to see how much the recognition meant to the winners themselves, but also their colleagues and friends at their places of work. 
“I would encourage every operation in the nation to get involved in the nomination process and be part of something that shines the greatly deserved spotlight on the sport’s vital workforce.” 
Julie Harrington, Chief Executive of the BHA, said: “British racing has been faced with unprecedented challenges during the last two years and while wider social restrictions put in place to combat COVID-19 have been lifted in Britain, those working in racing continue to adhere to protocols designed to ensure the sport’s ability to continue in the face of the ongoing public health threat. 
“That stud and stable staff have not only been able to adapt to a new way of working so professionally but been able to continue to ensure the high standard of care provided to each and every horse is a testament to their incredible hard work. I look forward to attending next year’s ceremony to pay tribute to the 2022 nominees and celebrate their incredible contribution to racing.” 

Back to news