Skip to content
Sign up for latest news and events

Explore British Racing’s Directory of Community and Education Activity…

The Directory maps nationwide activities from over 130 organisations that are harnessing racing’s assets to help people develop skills, increase physical activity and create a more diverse and inclusive sport.

Email to add your organisation or retrieve your login details.

13 January 2020

Retraining of Racehorses celebrates 20 years at Awards evening on Saturday

The annual Retraining of Racehorses (RoR) Awards takes place on Saturday 18th January, hosted by RoR Patron, Clare Balding, and ITV Racing and Sky Sports Racing presenter, Luke Harvey.

Now in its sixth year, the event will again be staged at the historic Jockey Club Rooms in Newmarket.

The awards showcase and celebrate the versatility of former racehorses across a range of disciplines with prizes awarded to winners in dressage, endurance, eventing, hunting, polo, showing and show jumping. The final award on the night is RoR Horse of the Year, sponsored by The Jockey Club, the winner of which will be selected from the evening’s eight elite winners.

Last year’s winners celebrating at The Jockey Club Rooms

In addition, there is a new award for this year, marking the 20th anniversary of RoR gaining its charitable status. The RoR Horse Personality of the Year, as chosen by best-selling author and renowned horse lover, Jilly Cooper, recognises a former racehorse that has displayed remarkable strength of character and personality during their life after racing.

The winners of the eight elite awards are the former racehorses who in 2019 won RoR championship events or achieved the best season-long results in their respective disciplines.

All eight finalists for the RoR Horse of the Year Award and their riders (clockwise from top left);
Early Shirley (Claudia Jones), Quadrille (Louise Robson), Dream Big (Tom McEwen), Mumford (Collette McGoldrick), Abseil (Tracy Sieminski), Kikos (Amy Morgan), Desert Joe (Rebecca Court), Maidana (Camilo Castangnola)

The winner of the RoR Horse of the Year, sponsored by The Jockey Club, will receive the perpetual trophy, produced by Harriet Glen, together with tickets, with hospitality, to the opening day of the Cheltenham Festival 2020.

Meanwhile, the RoR Horse Personality of the Year will be made in honour of the late Paul Mellon in recognition of the bequest from the estate of Paul Mellon to RoR when the charity was established 20 years ago, in 2000.

Find out more via Retraining of Racehorses.

Back to news