Skip to content
Sign up for latest news and events

Explore British Racing’s Directory of Community and Education Activity…

The Directory maps nationwide activities from over 130 organisations that are harnessing racing’s assets to help people develop skills, increase physical activity and create a more diverse and inclusive sport.

Email to add your organisation or retrieve your login details.

03 December 2019

Shortlisted nominees revealed for Rory MacDonald Community Award

The shortlist for the 2020 Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards has been announced today.

A total of 203 nominations were received, with the judging panel tasked with selecting a shortlist of ten candidates in each of the six categories.

Both Flat and Jump yards and studs are represented by individuals with a wide range of experience and backgrounds, from those who have worked in racing for just 7 months to those with over 50 years to their name.

The process of selecting three finalists in each category will now begin, with the finalists invited to London on Monday 20 February to meet with the judges. The awards ceremony will take place that evening at The Underglobe on London’s South Bank and will be hosted by ITV Racing’s Ed Chamberlin.

Brough Scott, Chair of the judging panel, said:

“Whilst whittling down the nominations to a shortlist of just 10 for each category is always an unenviable task, the examples of hard work, commitment and dedication shown by all the nominees never fail to inspire.

“I would like to extend my congratulations to all those who were nominated and wish those who have progressed to the next stage of the process the very best of luck.” 

The three finalists for each category will be revealed in early January 2020.

Full list of shortlisted nominees and their employer:

Rory MacDonald Community Award

  • Eleanor Boden – Scottish Racing
  • Amie Canham – Richard Fahey
  • Julie Lingham – British Racing School
  • Debbie Matthews – Go Racing Green
  • Grace Muir – HEROS
  • Chicky Oaksey – Injured Jockeys Fund
  • Shelley Perham – National Trainers Federation
  • Patrick & Julie Scott – Appletree Stud
  • Simone Sear – Racing Welfare
  • Samantha Trainor – National Horseracing College

David Nicholson Newcomer

  • Lucy Branthwaite – Barbara Butterworth
  • Chelsea Brooks – Ollie Pears
  • Charlotte Cotgrave – Mark Johnston
  • Leonie Dalgety – Ralph Beckett
  • Jess Godwin – Roger Charlton
  • Bradley Harris – Andrew Balding
  • Matty Hicks – Ed Walker
  • Megan Lyth – Emma Lavelle
  • Jemma Mead – Amy Murphy
  • Kevin Skelton – Bryan Smart


  • Megan Giles – Harry Fry
  • Anthony Gorman – Richard Hannon
  • Hannah Gregory – Richard Phillips
  • Leanne Kershaw – Jedd O’Keeffe
  • Adam Kite – Ralph Beckett
  • Patrick MacEwan – Richard Hughes
  • Mat Nicholls – Kim Bailey
  • James Savage – Michael Stoute
  • Gemma Spanswick – George Baker
  • Jarek Stadnik – Richard Fahey


  • Andre Alencar – Roger Charlton
  • Rakesh Alva – Bryan Smart
  • Hayley Ashcroft – Tom Dascombe
  • Jessica Benfield – Charlie Longsdon
  • Reeannan Davidson – Sandy Thomson
  • Darren Forster – Mark Johnston
  • Ella Herbison – Philip Hobbs
  • Kate McCormack – Paul Nicholls
  • Shoab Patel – Stuart Williams
  • David Williams – John Gosden

Stud Staff

  • Dianne Best – Cobhall Court
  • Noel Challinor – Northmore
  • James Frank – Hascombe and Valiant
  • Dean Hanson – Far Westfield Farm
  • John Hernon – Cheveley Park
  • Tom Hughes – Hazelwood Bloodstock
  • Patrick Meehan – The National Stud
  • Richie Rohan – Sicklinghall
  • Josephine Saunders – Hillwood
  • Keith Warburton – Shade Oak


  • Charlotte Burke – Alan King
  • Brian Clotworthy – Henry Candy
  • David Crofts – Marcus Tregoning
  • Kevin Hunt – Andrew Balding
  • Seanie Mulcaire – Philip Hobbs
  • Paul Pritchard – Eve Johnson Houghton
  • James Richards – Ann Duffield
  • Jane Smith – John Ryan
  • Andrew Stringer – John Gosden
  • Philip Wright – Harry Dunlop
Back to news