Skip to content
Sign up for latest news and events

Explore British Racing’s Directory of Community and Education Activity…

The Directory maps nationwide activities from over 130 organisations that are harnessing racing’s assets to help people develop skills, increase physical activity and create a more diverse and inclusive sport.

Email to add your organisation or retrieve your login details.

02 December 2020

Ten candidates shortlisted for GSSA Community Award

A strong field of 10 nominees for the Community Award will be considered by judges of the 2021 Godolphin Stud & Stable Staff Awards. The award is within six categories that have been revealed, with 206 nominations received from across the racing and breeding industries whittled down to 60.

The Community Award (in recognition of Rory MacDonald) is for individuals connected directly or indirectly to horseracing, including auxiliary and administrative staff, who demonstrate the social responsibility and values of our sport. Nominees are selfless, passionate people, who go above and beyond their everyday roles or jobs to make a positive difference to the lives of people or racehorses within the industry, or to the communities within which racing operates.

Community Award

  • Rob Achner – Jockey Club Estates
  • Simon Bailey – Sports Chaplaincy UK
  • Bee Chapman – William Jarvis
  • Simon Jones
  • Joanna O’Neill – Jonjo O’Neill
  • Richard Phillips
  • Sam Trainor – National Horseracing College
  • Caroline Turnbull – Thoroughbred Breeders’ Association
  • Margo Walsh – The Jockey Club
  • Paul Wright – Weatherbys

Now in their 17th year, the awards recognise and reward the outstanding skills, commitment and contribution of over 10,000 stud and stable staff in England, Scotland and Wales.

For the first time this year, any applicant who makes the shortlist of 10, but does not progress to the final three, will receive £250 to mark the significant achievement of making the shortlist and also to distribute existing prize money more widely, given the significant financial impact of COVID-19.

The Judging Panel will now agree on a list of three finalists for each of the six categories, which will be announced in the new year. The format of the 2021 awards has changed due to the ongoing impact of COVID-19, with the entirety of the judging process likely to be conducted remotely.

The awards ceremony on Monday, 22 February 2020 will be replaced by an interactive virtual event, which will be broadcasted live and free to air on Racing TV. A celebratory event is being planned for summer 2021, subject to government guidance.

The shortlisted nominees and their employers are as follows:

David Nicholson Newcomer

  • Levi Capell – Willam Haggas
  • Alex Caulkett – Eve Johnson Houghton
  • Ericka Davies – Iain Jardine
  • Rebecca Elliott – Seamus Mullins
  • Jaydon Lee – Nicky Henderson
  • Alice Price – Ben Pauling
  • Alana Stiles – Hughie Morrison
  • Chrissie Sykes – Ruth Carr
  • Jessica Townend – Jedd O’Keeffe
  • Mikaela Wilkings – Susan Corbett


  • Jessica Bell – Brian Ellison
  • Alan Berry – Jonjo O’Neill
  • Alex Cairns – James Fanshawe
  • Rebecca Edmunds – Bryan Smart
  • Kayleigh Flower – William Knight
  • Hannah Gregory – Richard Phillips
  • Roddy  Griffiths – Emma Lavelle
  • Timothy Hogg – Jedd O’Keeffe
  • Tom Messenger – Dan Skelton
  • Lauren Webb – Daniel & Claire Kubler


  • Rakesh Alva – Bryan Smart
  • Jessica Benfield – Charlie Longsdon
  • Emily Bullock – Ruth Carr
  • Lindsay Gallagher – Barry Brennan
  • Maqsood Gill – Jim Boyle
  • Joanna Lacisz – Sir Michael Stoute
  • Sarah Peacock – Tom George
  • Faisal Phillips – Richard Phillips
  • Karl Pierrepont – Henry Spiller
  • Sophie Teague – Nick Alexander

Stud Staff

  • Noel Challinor – Northmore Stud
  • Jack Conroy – Chasemore Farm
  • Natalie Folland – Elkington Stud
  • David Hegarty – Genesis Green Stud
  • Tom Hughes – Hazelwood Bloodstock
  • Martin Languillet – Fittocks Stud
  • Oliver Nash – Mildmay Farm and Stud
  • Antonia Neal – Far Westfield Farm
  • Elody Swann – Newsells Park Stud
  • Ellie Wright – Brick Kiln Stud


  • Guinand Bissessur – William Haggas
  • David Crofts – Marcus Tregoning
  • Claudia Fisher – Amy Murphy
  • Roy Fowler – Mick Channon
  • Helen Halliwell – James Fanshawe
  • Debbie Howie – John Gosden
  • Lisa Jackson – Philip Hobbs
  • Joline Saunders – Richard Phillips
  • Jane Smith – John Ryan
  • John Smith – Henry Candy

Find out more about the awards here.

Back to news